Books and Bikes

I know, why would a bookstore sell bikes?  It goes like this.  Books and bikes are two things I enjoy the most.  Okay, add beer to the list, but I don’t have a liquor license.  And ice cream, but no freezer. So I settled on bikes.  Not just any bikes, one bike.  The Kona Africabike.

Kona calls it “The most important bike we’ve ever designed.”
It’s a bike with a cause.  Bicycling Magazine editor Steve Madden said,
“BikeTown Africa is an opportunity for bikes to do more than just change lives. In this case, bikes can help save lives.”

For every two bikes I sell, Kona will donate one to a home health worker in Africa as part of the BikeTown Africa program.  This video explains the program better than I can.

I’ll post more later.  The bikes should arrive soon.  I saw this phrase on a t-shirt recently: “Gas sucks ride a bike.”  I tend to agree.

5 Responses to Books and Bikes

  1. [...] his blog entry about the bike and the concept, Jerry says, For every two bikes I sell, Kona will donate one to a home health [...]

  2. [...] have arrived A few days ago I posted an entry about the Africabikes I ordered for Monkey See, Monkey Read.  The bikes have arrived.  These [...]

  3. [...] Books and Bikes « Monkeyreadblog “I know, why would a bookstore sell bikes?” There’s a good reason. Via Shelf-Awareness.com [...]

  4. [...] 31, 2008 in bookstore, internet, marketing, technology | Tags: Africa, bicycles, Botswana | A bookstore in Minnesota is now also offering bicycles for sale. Well, it’s actually just one style of bike. An [...]

  5. I think you should point out the another side of the topic too… Hats Off to the discussion.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

