Africabikes have arrived

A few days ago I posted an entry about the Africabikes I ordered for Monkey See, Monkey Read. The bikes have arrived. These bikes are utilitarian riding machines.
Single speed, coaster brake, chain guard, fenders, basket on the front, rack

on the back, thornproof tubes, rear wheel lock. All for $299.00. A bike with a cause. For every two bikes sold, Kona will donate one to a home-health-worker in Africa.

I took this picture of Hayes Scriven enjoying the ride. These are great bikes for a town like Northfield. In a small town like this, you can get anywhere on a bike in about 15 minutes.

Trek’s 1world2wheels website has some great information on the benefits of biking like this:

FOR YOUR HEALTH, FOR THE WORLD, FOR OUR FUTURE, FOR 2 MILES OR LESS
With the world facing skyrocketing obesity rates, escalating traffic congestion and the concerns of global climate change, the bicycle is an underutilized solution.
FOR YOUR HEALTH
The average person loses 13 lbs. their first year of commuting by bike.
Just 3 hours of bicycling per week can reduce your risk of heart disease and stroke by 50%.
A 140-pound cyclist burns 508 calories while pedaling 14 miles in an hour.

One Response to Africabikes have arrived

  1. Andy Alt says:

    Jerry said: “In a small town like this, you can get anywhere on a bike in about 15 minutes.”

    Jerry, you and I have spoken of biking a few times. Some things I never mentioned as to why I bike so seldom.

    I’ll bike from my apt to downtown, but I wouldn’t bike, for instance, down hwy 3 to the ballroom, where I have to go on August 12th to donate blood. Aside from the fact I couldn’t and wouldn’t bike that far after giving blood, I am a bit of a scaredy-cat on my bike while being near so many cars. They might as well be tanks for all the armor and protection of bike offers. Knee-pads and a helmet will only do so much. I have very little reluctance to bike downtown, on the other hand, because I can avoid traffic for most of the route.

    I do often walk my bike across intersections. My concentration can be a bit poor. For instance, When I had a car, I only had three major accidents since I was 16. A lot of near misses though. I can’t drive a car anymore without being somewhat reluctant or nervous. I still have my license; the MN DMV doesn’t test for concentration. As it relates to bikes, though, I can’t keep my balance when doing hand signals, or keep my direction true when looking over my shoulder to check for cars.
    I’m sure you’d let me know that those two obstacles would be less of a hindrance if I bought some upgrades for my bike, yes I’ve thought of that; it’s just procrastination and saving my money for other stuff that’s prevented me from checking into it.

    If anybody has some words of wisdom on this subject, I have a feeling it’ll be you. So fire away with any of your insights if you have the time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

